Stream the music

Something to Bleed

Stephen Evans and the True Grits

"There are two main moods to Something to Bleed, the new 10-track album by local musician Stephen Evans — the energetic folk-rock found on lead offering “The Ghost” and the more wistful, lilting melodies of songs like “1000 Roses.” Evans’ tenor is emotive and more concerned with ache and character than with polish. His vocal is matched at many points by poignant violin. The local singer-songwriter does a nice job of crafting imagery and matching instrumentation to poetic temperament." - Alli Marshall, Mountain Xpress.

After years of putting his music career on hold, Stephen Evans has finally released his debut CD, "Something to Bleed". This record is a sweet blend of dark, brooding rock and fun, uplifting grooves. With solid vocal melodies and delicious dancing counter melodies, one will find themselves humming these tunes long after the music has stopped playing. The lyrics are creative and pull you into dark, romantic scenarios then send you spiraling upward with hope.
Read more… close
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
    Sound 3:48
  9. 9
  10. 10

Live Shows

Email List Signup

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required

Stephen Evans & the True Grits at The Grey Eagle PATIO SHOW

 —  —

The Grey Eagle, 185 Clingman Ave, Asheville, NC

Stephen Evans & The True Grits return to The Grey Eagle patio stage on Sunday AUG 15th! A very limited number of tickets are available now! - PATIO SHOW - 5PM DOORS // 6PM SHOW - ALL AGES - RESERVED TABLES - SOCIAL DISTANCING GUIDELINES IN PLACE STEPHEN EVANS & THE TRUE GRITS After many years of vacillating between being a professional musician and building a nest in Asheville, Stephen has been focusing on his love for writing and performing music. In June of 2015, Stephen released his debut LP, “Something to Bleed”, with his band, the True Grits. The record received local and regional praise for its passion and creativity. The True Grits are Brian Shoemaker (bass/vocals), Sam Hess (drums) and Woodstock (mandolin). The latest band EP release, “Under the Bridge” came out in 2017 to positive reception and local radio play as well. This record was engineered by Kyle Corbett, and produced by Stephen Evans. Stephen’s strong melodic songwriting style is a blend of creative imagery of darkness and hopeful optimism. There is no denying the passion that shines through with his powerful vocals and lyrics. Songs like ‘The Garden’, ‘Cherokee Hills’, ‘1000 Roses’ and ‘Shining Star’ are beacons of his folk rock songcraft. With local radio play on WNCW 88.7, 98.1 The River, and the local online radio station, Buzz Radio Asheville, shows around the Carolina region, Stephen Evans & the True Grits are becoming a local favorite. With a new record on the way for 2021, they look to continue that trend.

$10 presale/ $12 at door